• Black Spotify Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

In the Trance series, contrasting with his latest works, Javier approaches composition through the use of small looped musical ideas. Said repetition spirit leads the musicians to a trance that has its culmination with improvisation, by which the musicians become part of the compositional process in real-time giving a prominent place to the musical interplay.

When listening to the Trance trio, we find completely improvised parts, complex written counterpoints, accented rhythms and textures resulting in a contemporary jazz project with an eclectic style that will look for elements from folk music to electronic music, passing through free improvisation, classical music and the jazz background of musicians.

Finally, the unusual configuration of saxophone, guitar and drums makes the musicians confront the challenge of the base absent, which in fact ends up to be an impulse for the trio to explore unusual places.

Copyright © Javier Subatin 2020